Copywriting

Definition of copywriter

noun

Pronunciation: /ˈkɒpɪrʌɪtə/

A person who writes the text of advertisements or publicity material.


Copywriting is a profession which involves and is not limited to coming up with:

•Slogans                                 •Straplines

•Endlines                                •Tag lines

•Baselines                              •Signatures

•Payoffs

During my first day at Ravensbourne I took part in a copywriting workshop and met a copywriter named Stuart Blake who gave me some insight into the industry. He showed us some of his work for big brands such as Volkswagen.

One of the approaches he used for real world briefs was to question the product he was promoting as much as he could and as broadly as he could. You would then try and find links between the answers to each question.

I was given the task of coming up with a slogan to sell myself to an employer and another slogan to sell myself to the other sex.

I decided to make use of my surname “To” as it is quite unusual and is pronounced the same way as you pronounce the number two. At first I thought of using “To be, or not to be, that is the question” but it is unoriginal and portrays a sense of doubt which doesn’t really add to the persuasion if you’re try to make yourself look good. I eventually came to a phrase which was sufficient and fitting for both halves of the task so I made the choice to combine the two.

Jordan To

noun

Pronunciation: /ˈdʒɔː.dən/ /tuː/

My slogan:

Not because you need To, because you want To.

Leave a Reply

