New Page, Final Chapter

For the third and final brief, this term our class has been tasked to create a design for an A4 double page spread. We were allowed to design anything as long as it held our attention for a reasonable amount of time. I immediately knew that I wanted to illustrate my dreams. The inspiration came from a vivid dream where a duck robbed me in a japanese store where a monkey was the cashier. Yes, you heard that right. I have to stupidest dreams and I thought it would be fun to illustrate them.

First I researched a few artists and gathered together a rough mood board:

Screenshot (294)Screenshot (296).png

I also looked at a few artists that I liked the style of:

Screenshot (298)Screenshot (299)Screenshot (300)Screenshot (301)Screenshot (302)

I wanted to take Ivan Belikov’s style of illustration which he used to depict mythical creatures. I chose his style because of the use of a simple colour palette where only three of four colours are used in each illustration. However, I didn’t think I would have time to imitate the intricacy of detail in his images so I would go for simpler shapes.

All the other images from my dreams would be done in a different style that I would choose randomly and however I felt it should look and feel like.

I loved all the styles of the artists that I researched but I don’t think I would have enough time to illustrate all my ideas in the same amount of detail.

here are my finished images:

DuckCar ParkLiftHeight FearHeight Fear2Nuke

 

Leave a Reply

